First day as a shelter volunteer

On my first day as a volunteer dog walker for the Charlottesville-Albemarle SPCA, I learned that:

  • The people who work here are doing their utmost to care for these many homeless animals.
  • Sometimes, the dog you’re walking doesn’t want to run around. Sometimes they just want to sit beside you and be stroked.
  • Hounds can retrieve quite well. I bonded most with Oliver, a small and young hound mix, who was adorable and played fetch with me and then chased me around the pen, play-bowing the whole time. Stole my heart.
  • The pit bull I walked had the sweetest and quietest demeanor of all the dogs I interacted with.
  • Dogs become highly reactive when in the presence of dozens of other agitated, barking dogs.
  • I can’t wait to go back next weekend!
Leave a Reply

