Review: Dogs Behaving Badly

Dogs Behaving Badly, by Nicholas Dodman

This book was my first foray into a medical perspective on dogs and I found it very helpful and insightful. I imagine I’d reference it myself if my dog was displaying any of the undesirable behavior traits listed in this book.

Dodman is a well-known and widely respected canine authority who leads the Tufts University School of Veterinary Medicine’s program in animal behavior. I’d love to be able to take a few classes from him sometime, if it were only possible!

I liked Dodman’s use of anecdotes throughout his A-to-Z chapters. The unusual stories from his practice helped illuminate some of his medical explanations for common canine problems.

I didn’t really dislike anything about this book, although it probably wasn’t so helpful to me now, since I don’t have a dog that’s actually exhibiting any of these symptoms or behaviors. I imagine I’d probably pick it up again once I actually get a dog and can’t figure out what I’m doing wrong. I’d recommend this book as a friendly and easy-to-understand guide to behavioral issues in dogs. I hope I’ll be able to recall some of Dodman’s suggestions when the time comes to actually deal with my future dog’s issues.

2 thoughts on “Review: Dogs Behaving Badly

Leave a Reply

