Breed Love: Saluki

saluki Atreyu owned by Laurie
Graceful and beautiful saluki. Source: Flickr, user hawksview

My lifelong dog obsession began when I was 8 or 9. Since that time, I have been enamored with the saluki. I mean, just look at these dogs! They are breathtakingly beautiful. I could look at pictures of salukis all day long. (I think when I was a child, I fancied that salukis were my “spirit animal.” I found this written in a diary by my 10-year-old self. I don’t know what it means, but there you have it.)

The saluki, the royal dog of Egypt, is one of the world’s oldest dog breeds. These fleet-footed sighthounds were used by the ancient Egyptians for hunting. Today, I think you’d be hard-pressed to find a saluki hunting. Rather, I’d imagine you’d find these regal dogs lounging on beds of purple velvet stuffed with goose down. Simply put, salukis are still very rare in the United States and you’d be paying thousands of dollars for a purebred puppy.

Saluki Bitch
Pretty lady in the show ring. Source: Flickr, user neil_e_lloyd

For that reason alone, I don’t think I’d ever actually get a saluki. Add their rarity and cost to the fact that they’re highly independent and cat-like, and I think the chances are slim that we’ll be buying a saluki anytime soon. But that still doesn’t stop my lifelong admiration for this breed. It’s one of my life goals, I think, to actually meet a saluki. I need to find some dog shows…

Saluki links:

4 thoughts on “Breed Love: Saluki

  1. Okay I commented on your later post about breeds you don’t love…and then I found this. And someone once told my rescue looked like he was part Saluki. He has the long-haired ears, short haired face and long pointed nose. He actually looks like a black brindle version of the second picture in this post! Amazing!

    Now I’m a little bit curious about his breed and feel like I should do some research…haha.

  2. I have a Saluki and yes you are right, they are so breathtakingly beautiful……:) And its not just their looks that make them so adorable, they are just like humans (don’t drool, don’t lick, like to be left alone sometimes and sometimes they just want to be there beside you).
    Right now he is hospitalized due to an injury and I am missing him so much that I am looking at Saluki videos and photos that’s when stumbled upon this. 🙂
    Saluki Love..

Leave a Reply

