Breed love: Doberman pinscher

Regal doberman. Source: dobermanpuppiesblog.com

My father grew up with doberman pinschers and I have grown up hearing stories about his true dog love, Ebony. Ebony was his constant companion and, in my Dad’s estimation, The Greatest Dog Who Ever Lived. In his later high school years, after Ebony had passed away, my dad’s family got another doberman, whom they named Cheyenne. Dad painted Cheyenne as more reserved and protective than Ebony, but as an equally outstanding dog.

My dad’s mom, my grandmother, continued the family love of dobermans after she lived on her own and adopted Chance, a purebred dobe, from the local animal shelter where she worked. In my own life, we had childhood friends who owned dobermans and once or twice casually bred them and sold the puppies. Suffice it to say, I grew up among people who had an extremely high estimation of these beautiful dogs.

Source: Rebecca Enslein

Dobermans are known for being extremely intelligent and powerful. They have a pop culture reputation of being fierce and aggressive and they can certainly look very intimidating (especially when their ears are cropped, like the dogs featured above). Breed enthusiasts call dobermans “the Cadillac of dogs” for their beautiful build, clean lines, and regal gaze.

I have always thought fondly of these dogs and am happy to meet one whenever I get the chance to see one. But even though my paternal family has owned them for years, I have not interacted with many dobermans. For that reason, they are not at the top of my wish list, but this is through no fault of their own. If the opportunity ever presented itself, I’d count myself honored to live with these noble animals.

Doberman links:

5 thoughts on “Breed love: Doberman pinscher

  1. I’m one of the lucky ones to have a doberman as a companion.

    They are truly an amazing breed. So smart, so goofy and such big babies!

    My boy Kyuss didn’t end up with cropped ears. Sometimes I wish I had, but my husband wasn’t a big fan of them so he won that argument. And to be honest, those big ol’ floppy ears on his head really suit his personality!

    It’s quite fun when someone remarks on how nice looking or well behaved he is, then asks his breed. With him being a red (or brown depending on your location) and having uncropped ears, the breeds I’ve heard most people ask are chocolate lab, german shorthaired pointer and great dane since he’s so tall.

    When I say doberman, many are taken aback. Some are curious, others rude. But I’m just glad he’s a great representative of his breed.

    Thanks for sharing such lovely photos!

  2. Another Doberman household here! Very happy to see them showcased.

    I knew no other Dobermans before I visited Elka’s breeder, and have seen only two or three total in my area, most from afar. They’re fantastic, beautiful, smart dogs, though sometimes it’s possible for them to be too smart for their own good 😉 The Doberman isn’t for everybody, but they certainly deserve respect and admiration. You’re lucky to have grown up around them!

Leave a Reply

