Review: The Adopted Dog Bible

The Adopted Dog Bible, by Kim Saunders

Now THIS is the book that I should have picked up first when I wanted more information about adopting a dog. Kim Saunders, one of the founders of the nationally successful rescue website Petfinder.com, wrote this hefty and helpful manual for anyone who is planning to rescue a dog or has already done so.

The Adopted Dog Bible contains a wealth of information for the new parent of an adopted dog. I also think it’s one of the most helpful books I’ve read to date on general dog care, regardless of whether that dog was adopted.

Saunders provides all of the information and tips that I had been looking for–and didn’t find–in Adopting a Dog. How to you prevent and mitigate separation anxiety? What kind of questions should you ask the shelter or rescue group about the dog’s background? How do you evaluate an adult dog’s level of socialization? Saunders has all of the answers and more.

The book also has an extensive section on health care, dog food, and home remedies. Saunders seems to be a fairly big proponent of natural remedies for common canine ailments, which I found very interesting. I hadn’t read about some of these herbal treatments before in relation to dogs.

In a perfect world, this would be the book that was given to every first-time dog parent who brought a dog home from a shelter or rescue group. I only wish that my local SPCA had an abundance of copies to give away. It’s an excellent resource and one that I plan on returning to in the future.

8 thoughts on “Review: The Adopted Dog Bible

  1. I was an adopted dog from the Cleveland APL and was glad that I was adopted by my Daddy & Mommy. I will never forget September 12, 2010 as that was the day I got a new home and a second chance for love. I came from a litter of 7 and our Mommy died after giving birth to all of us as she was poisoned with anti-freeze. We had a great Foster Mom who took great care of us until we were adopted. Some people may look at adopted dogs differently than those from a breeder. I am proof that adopted dogs are great, as I turned into one awesome dog and have all the love & affection that any dog would be happy with. My life was changed the day I was adopted and so did my Daddy & Mommy’s life, but we are one big happy family and now never could imagine what life would be if I was not in it! Definitely, adopt a dog – – it is worth it!

  2. I’m going to put this one on my book hunting list. If you are interested in natural remedies, then you’ll love Dr. Pitcairn’s Complete Guide to Natural Health for Dogs and Cats when you get to it!

Leave a Reply

