Review: Bones Would Rain from the Sky

Bones Would Rain from the Sky, by Suzanne Clothier

Suzanne Clothier is a dog trainer, but Bones Would Rain from the Sky is not a dog-training manual. Rather, this book is Clothier’s lovely and heartfelt guide about how to have a more intimate relationship with your dog.

The book’s title and premise of “deepening our relationships with dogs” sounds hokey, but Clothier does provide some very practical and hands-on advice about communicating and living with canines. Her stories are insightful and her calm, holistic approach to training is refreshing to read. She doesn’t get hung up on doing the exact right thing; she doesn’t seem to fret about all of the things we might be missing. Instead, the constant mantra of this book is to slow down, listen, and try to understand your dog a little bit better.

I was most struck my Clothier’s gentle and extremely humble tone. I’ve found that dog trainers, like most self-proclaimed “experts,” almost never admit to making mistakes. So many dog trainers would never share their errors with you–or even admit that they were capable of making mistakes (cough, cough, Cesar Millan). It’s easy to think that these great dog trainers don’t ever mess up. Clothier is quick to point out that this is not the case. She graciously shares the times she lost her temper with foster dogs or made a hasty decision based on incorrect information. Rather than diminishing her credibility as a trainer, these disclosures strengthened my trust in Clothier as a wise dog parent.

Overall, I really enjoyed this thorough and philosophical approach to human-canine relationships. I would recommend this book to people who were already solid in their knowledge of positive training techniques and didn’t really need a step-by-step training manual. I think it would be a fantastic addition to the more knowledgeable dog parent’s repertoire of canine reading.

Clothier is a graceful and wise trainer and caretaker and her dogs are very lucky animals. I hope that I will be able to eventually exude the same peace and confidence with my future dogs.

8 thoughts on “Review: Bones Would Rain from the Sky

  1. As a man who has always had a love of dogs and had them as part of my life I thoroughly enjoyed what you wrote. I have frequently tried to see life through the eyes of my dogs and try to understand what they see and how they interpret it. I have never attributed human characteristics to my dogs. They are way too noble to come down to our level, but they add something that is rich and wonderful to our lives and hopefully makes us more sensitive to the world around us.

  2. I had a chance to see her at the Association of Pet Dog Trainers conference last year and she was exactly what I expected her to be. She sounds exactly as you hear her voice when you read the book – the mark of a great writer.

  3. I loved reading this book. For me, it was one of those amazing works that changes the whole way you look at dogs and the world. I hope more people read it thanks to your review.

Leave a Reply

