Gallery of hounds

Can you tell that I’m very partial to sighthounds? I adore them and yet they are extremely mysterious to me. I feel like I don’t understand them at all, but I want to. Some years down the road, I’m quite serious about adopting a former racing greyhound. Reading Tales and Tails also makes me believe that it would be possible for two such divergent dogs as a German shepherd and a greyhound could happily and peacefully coexist.

(Click on a photo to be taken to its source.)

Borzoi

Borzoi

Gypsy Rose Lee and her Afghan hound

Afghan hound

Greyhounds

Greyhound

Saluki

Saluki in the snow

Irish wolfhound

Irish wolfhound

4 thoughts on “Gallery of hounds

  1. I look forward to adopting a greyhound someday, too.
    I’m also rather partial to whippets.
    Very excited to have met my first Borzoi a few weeks back. That’s another dog with an interesting history…
    The Afghan with the hair like a wig is ridiculous!

  2. Gypsy Rose Lee’s Afghan was named Diana. I was never able to track down the registered name or breeder. Afghans have always been popular with celebrities, I have a bunch of photos of stars and their Afghans.

Leave a Reply

