Gallery of non-sporting dogs

I’ve always thought that “non-sporting” was such a funny name for this AKC group. It almost implies that they can’t do anything. I think “potpourri” would perhaps be a more appropriate name for these dogs, which don’t seem to fit into any other pre-established group. Either way, this category offers up a wide range of different dogs. Here are some of my personal favorites.

Unrelated to these cute pups, yesterday I added a new page on my blog: Resources. This is a collection of my favorite links, organized by category, and a list of the best dog books I’ve read so far. I made the page as a reference to myself in coming months, but I also hope it may be helpful to you or any other new dog people.

(Click on an image to be taken to its source.)

Keeshond

Keeshond puppy

Norwegian lundehund

Norwegian lundehund puppy

Shiba inu

Sleepy shiba

Standard poodles

Standard poodle

Tibetan spaniel

Tibetan spaniel

3 thoughts on “Gallery of non-sporting dogs

  1. That’s funny, I would’ve thought Poodles (and the Lundehunds) would be in the Hunting group. Shows how much I know!

    I definitely though, before I read the rest of your sentence, that you thought “non-sporting” was going to make it sound like they “didn’t play by the rule” (i.e., were unsportsmanlike)!

Leave a Reply

