Places to go with my future dog

Places to Go, People to See, Things to Do with Our Future Pup: A Preliminary List

Click for source.

Let’s go to…

  1. The dog-friendly downtown mall.
  2. All of the beautiful parks in town (especially Pen Park).
  3. Local rivers.
  4. A lake.
  5. A pet store.
  6. A dog-friendly restaurant.
  7. Someone’s backyard for a play date.
  8. Carter Mountain Orchard in the fall.
  9. A cookout with friends.
  10. A campsite, for an overnight stay.
  11. A playground.
  12. Urban Outfitters, since they allow canines.
  13. The woods.
  14. Monticello.
  15. An off-leash dog park.
  16. The quarry.
  17. That dog-friendly winery I’ve heard about.
  18. My parents’ house.
  19. His parents’ house.
  20. My grandparents’ house on the lake.
  21. A farm.
  22. The beach.
  23. A cabin in the woods.

Or, anywhere! I can’t wait. I want to take my future dog everywhere.

Where are some of your favorite places to take your pooch?

8 thoughts on “Places to go with my future dog

  1. We are definitely forest preserve people – even though we live in the Chicago ‘burbs, you’d be surprised how many wooded areas and trails we have around here! Rufus loves the ponds, but that’s only safe in the warmer months. I also love taking him to Pet stores, but only when it’s not super packed as he tends to get a little overwhelmed.

  2. Love your blog, having fun reading it and learning new things. Love all animals, but especially dogs! Have two rescue dogs myself, they are the only way to go!!

  3. I didn’t know Urban Outfitters allowed canines!

    All the hardware stores around here seem to be dog-friendly. Not necessarily a “favorite,” but a good one to put on the list as well.

  4. It is funny how every country is so different on their views about where dogs can go. In England it seems to vary between friendly family run pubs having no problem to many indoor places saying ‘no’ due to the current obsession with health and safety.I did see dogs in J. Crew in washington DC! In Sudan, where I was before, dogs are considered Haram so of course really couldn’t go in any shops. Now, however, I am in Vietnam where despite their still eating dogs… dogs seem to be welcome almost everywhere – in temples, restaurants, shops… Most people don’t seem to take their dogs out with them though – so perhaps mine remains a novelty and rules as such have not yet been created!

    My dog is ‘primitive’ dog from Sudan (I saw you had a post mentioning primitive dogs earlier) – she is a lovely dog and in some ways it is a shame she is not a ‘breed’ as such, but then as many say, that then leads to inbreeding and disease etc. My blog about having a dog in Vietnam below:

    http://juraphotos.wordpress.com/

    Below is an interesting blog with more info about pariah/primitive dogs in India and she has just done a piece about my dog (as all the primitive dogs worldwide share quite similar features). She has some interesting information and it is bizarre how quite a few Indian dogs have been adopted and gone over to the states! I know of course there are enough dogs needing home in the US alone. She is at least trying to promote having indigenous dogs rather than fancy purebreeds which have become so popular amongst the wealthy as a status symbol.

    http://indianpariahdog.blogspot.com/

    I will enjoy continuing to read your very informative blog!

  5. I love taking Honey anywhere we’re allowed to take her. I’m especially fond of outdoor dining and going to outdoor concerts at our local parks.

    I second Robin Sallie’s suggestion to expose your dog to things and not just places. We took socialization very seriously but missed a few things. I eventually discovered Honey was spooked by flapping canvas and by our creaky old human-powered lawn mower.

    I wish I had remember to include them in our puppy socialization.

  6. Trails, outside the city,him on a lunge line
    sitting and sharing silence,a sunset,warm earth smells,watching soaring hawks
    dividing up an apple piece by piece

  7. I am thinking about taking my dog through angel dogs therapy training to visit nursing homes. I have a friend who works at a rehab hospital/assisted living facility. She said that the dogs are very popular and they don’t have enough of them. Living in a facility without any family or pets must be so very lonely. It just seems like a great thing to do with my dog.

Leave a Reply

