Lovely leashes

Let it be known that I hold strong leash biases. I LOVE a soft, non-nylon leash, especially a rope leash or a leather leash. I DETEST retractable leashes in almost all walk circumstances. And I hate a nylon burn on my hand, which has happened many times at the SPCA.

Now that that’s out there, here are some great leashes that I like the look of from around the Web:

(Click on the pictures to shop!)

Mendota leash, $12.19 at DogSupplies.com.

This is the leash I’m pretty sure I want. After having used a Mendota leash with Dublin before, I was sold. After a few uses, it becomes very soft, and the braided rope is very strong. The leash is also quite affordable. I think it could probably qualify as a rope leash, too? They’re also sold in a slip-collar version, which is also appealing.

Zoey's reflective leash, $7 at DogSupplies.com.

I bought this leash in orange already, because sometimes I like to go running with Bo at night. I feel like both of us are so much safer with this leash, since we tend to run around a lot of busy streets when it gets dark. I do wish the tape was on both sides of the leash, but for $7, I really can’t complain!

Latigo leather twist leash, $18.29 at DogSupplies.com.

A nice, classic burgundy leather leash, which is also 6 feet long. It seems like a nice 6-foot leather lead is somewhat hard to find. And you can’t beat that price.

Hands-free runner dog leash, $35 at Olive Green Dog.

Look, ma! No hands! This could be a great option for those who like to run with their dogs.

Do you have a particular leash that you’re loyal to? Any that you’d recommend?

6 thoughts on “Lovely leashes

  1. I’m partial to leather leashes, but the first one, the red one, is quite nice. Also the hands free. Good job on finding leashes that weren’t ridiculously expensive, as well! That drives me nuts, that a strip of leather can be $70+!

    It’s kind of funny, but I forget where I ordered Elka’s leash from! I had to search my email for the order receipt: AllK-9.com (http://www.allk-9.com/ultra-leather-dog-leash-p-91.html)

    1. Thanks for the recommendation, Jen! I will definitely bookmark that link: That looks like a really excellent and affordable leather leash. You’re right: They are hard to come by!

  2. I dream of running again with Justus; that hands free leash looks promising. I have a donated slip leash very much like your rope leash; it’s one of my favorites – it’s a nice color, has softened and looks good on the dog as well as being very effective. Will check out Jen’s recommendation, too.
    Any hints on the best way to wash? I have an undergarment laundry bag I put collars in and toss in the wash. Seems to work well so far.

  3. My husband suggested I get a leather leash when my last dog, Shadow, was pulling hard enough to make my hands bleed. I found a great one at our local pet supply and would never go back. I only keep a nylon leash for when we’re going out in wet conditions or playing in the lake.

    But I just won a hemp leash from Go Pet Friendly that looks pretty nice. And it’s softer than the nylon so that might be going away.

  4. The leash I use for many walks in more ‘downtown’/hectic Hanoi and trips to the vet etc. is very similar to your first lead – It is made of sailing rope so it is soft right to begin with and still great even when wet. It is only about 4 ft however… http://www.boneandrag.com/quality-dog-leads/dog-lead

    I must say that despite all the negative things said about flexi leashes, I have always used them, first as a child/teenager with my Irish Wolfhound, who weighed more than me! and now with by 16kg dog in Hanoi. In both cases the dogs were trained first to heal using normal short leashes. The leash was also only extended in places where there would be no issue of getting tangled with other people/dogs. The flexi doesn’t mean they just run ahead ‘pulling’ but rather gives them a chance to sniff and catch up or in the case of Vietnam run off the path on to the grass (where people are not allowed to walk) laterally. There is no way, both now (Hanoi) and before (Sudan) that I could risk letting my dog off the leash (here people eat dogs and steal to re-sell and in Sudan police shot dogs), regardless of recall ability – even the best trained dog may not recall if overwhelmed by instinct (e.g. chasing a small animal or when scared of something). The flexi allows a degree of freedom while maintaining safety from being stolen, hit by cars, or eating something inappropriate. I think there are circumstances where they are useful and should not be discounted entirely when used correctly and with a great awareness of one’s surroundings.

Leave a Reply

