Pup links!

Actor Frederic March and his cocker spaniel in the rain. Source: LIFE Magazine Archives.

And now for some dog-related links:

The Dogs of “Mad Men.” OK, Dogster made another great list, assigning breeds to characters from AMC’s original series “Mad Men.” I think they’re spot-on, and the descriptions are priceless. Roger Sterling is totally a weimaraner and, weirdly enough, I can actually see Joan as an Aussie. (Dogster)

On Expensive Medical Treatments for Your Pet. Preach it! I think this is all that needs to be said on this prevailing and backwards mentality: “No one has ever noticed that a friend has a really nice new couch, and said: ‘well, gosh, I’d feel terrible buying such a nice couch, considering how many mosquito nets the Gates Foundation could have given out in the developing world with that kind of money.’ Ever. But people WILL say that to you for choosing to spend your own money to save a living creature that really matters to you.” (Lazy Self-Indulgent Book Reviews)

A Collection of German Shepherd Champions Over Time. This actually makes me kind of sad. Look how beautiful and strong the GSDs from the early 1900s looked. Today? They look like weirdly deformed half-dogs. It’s almost like a flip-book to deformity as you scroll upward quickly. Sigh. (Les Anges Gardiens)

Are Your Pet Adoption Listings Hurting Pets? An exhortation not to try to rope in potential adopters with sob stories; be honest about the dog’s strengths and weaknesses and you’ll give everyone a fair hand, including–or especially–the dog. (Dogged)

Woman’s Best Friend. As mentioned last weekend, this is my new pin board, featuring photographs and artwork of women and their dogs. Crazy dog ladies, enjoy! (Pinterest)

3 thoughts on “Pup links!

  1. First of all, I totally agree with the article on writing adoption ads – while pity stories work for some people, the majority of potential adopters want an honest profile of a pet they’re interested in. Also, most of the time rescuers don’t really know a dog’s background. Just because a dog is shy or timid does not mean they were beat – there are plenty of dogs that are purchased as tiny puppies that grow up to be a little timid or unsure of new people/situations. A lot of this has to do with socialization, but I also believe that it can just be an individual dog’s personality and/or breed background.

    Also, I really love your pinterest board! How freakin’ cute are those pics???

  2. The sad, gonna be killed! posts for adoptable dogs turn me off – and I have a rescue! Give me the upbeat, honest but well-written posts like Shakespeare’s any day. I try to wirte this kind for my adoptable dogs and try to get good videos, too, as well as appealing photos. One dog was recently adopted because, of all the Beagles this woman was looking at on Petfinder, in Layla’s video, she turned and smiled at my iPhone camera. Home run!

    I agree – for years, I have silently and not so silently raged at the demise of the hind legs of the GSD. Amazing to see they could stand up right – what happened to the so-called breed standard?

  3. Referring to the GSD’s. I think it’s more of the positioning of the dogs. If you look at the earlier pictures, they don’t have the modern stack pose. I would say my girl has a straight back but when she poses, it makes it seem like she’s more arched in the rear. I’m no expert in the matter but it’s not natural at all.

    Look here: http://gsdcla.com/Mattie_stack_banner_RGB.gif

    The closer hind leg is stretched so far back that the further hind leg has to drop almost it’s entirety to the floor to balance itself. Not only that but the front legs are positioned closer together and pressing their chest out. I don’t know about you but if I was a GSD, I’d be so uncomfortable but that’s probably why its mainly for show lines.

    I read some where that the hind legs were closer to the ground for more power in their take off but that could’ve been someone else’s theory.

Leave a Reply

