Pup links!

Audrey Hepburn and her Yorkshire terrier. Click for source.

Dog-related links from around the Web this week:

Careers in Behavior and Training. Like many of you, I suspect, I’ve daydreamed about quitting my job and becoming a full-time dog… person? Karen London, who did just that, shares some of her wisdom about careers in canine behavior and training. (The Bark blog)

In France, the (Abandoned) Dog Days of Summer. I admire a lot about French culture, but this is really appalling: Apparently, an estimated 100,000 dogs are simply abandoned every year by their French owners when they take their long summer holidays. The French SPCA comments on their campaign to end this practice. France has the highest numbers of pet ownership in all of Europe; you’d think this wouldn’t be an issue there. Big sigh. (NPR)

Police Dog “Bono” Plays by Own Rules, Plants Drug Evidence at Nearly Every Crime Scene. So, this is actually a big problem, and I’m surprised I haven’t read about it more before: Police dogs read their handlers so well that they generate an unfortunate amount of false positives when sniffing for illegal substances. How do we fix this egregious problem? Anyone heard of this phenomenon before? (Reason)

Hearing in Colors: Your Dog’s Coat Color Predicts His Hearing Ability. Stanley Coren, the popular canine psychologist, discusses research on how coat patterns and colors relate to hearing ability. This doesn’t break it down so far as to say that black dogs hear better than brown ones, but the research affirms the fact that primarily white or merled or piebald dogs do not hear as well or are more likely to suffer from hearing loss. (Psychology Today)

Fast and Furry-ous: Flyballin’. These are such great photos; the dogs look like they are having a blast! You can feel the energy and excitement. (Identity: V+E)

Reflections. OK, no dogs in this one, but this just made me giggle, particularly the photo with the whole crowd of sheep staring at their reflections. Really puts an image to the cliche “herd mentality.” (BCxFour)

The Benefits of Pet Ownership for Children. As a child who pestered her parents constantly for a pet, I’ll add a hearty amen to this article. Some great research cited here, too. (AAHA Healthy Pet Blog)

Pawsitively Amazing: Kiya. These sweet photos of this disabled German shepherd actually brought tears to my eyes. What is it about disabled dogs that is so gut-wrenching and inspiring? Probably because they don’t seem to worry at all and still have such light and joy in their eyes. It will get me every time. Kiya looks like such a doll, too. (The Daily Dog Tag)

2 thoughts on “Pup links!

  1. You know, I’m not surprised by the police dog story, but that is quite a conundrum. In my experience, dogs alert to false positives when they’ve been punished for being wrong. Even something as simple as an NRM can cause a consistent record of false alerting. That’s why nose work is all about the positive. If they’re wrong, we direct them to the right area, let them find it, alert it, and then reward them.

    I wish the article had said something about what cues had been observed in the handler that are causing the false positives in the dog’s work. Could it be as simple as pointing to an area to search or the way an officer smells when he’s investigating a Hispanic or African American criminal? Crazy!

    I worry about this happening with Elli and her nose work, obviously it’s just a sport and not a criminal case, but still! I always plant the hide, so I know where it is and what she’ll do when she’s right and also what she does when she’s wrong or guessing. Does she read me? I always think about my position in relation to the hide — are my shoulders directed to the hide? Do I watch her or watch the box where the hide is? Do I breathe differently when she’s near the scent? Do I walk forward toward the area where the hide is?

Leave a Reply

