Next dog daydreaming…

Beautiful Australian shepherd with a tail. Click for source.

Do you ever daydream about your “next dog”? I admit that I do, every now and then… Disclaimer: Pyrrha is perfect for us right now. I can’t imagine a better dog for us. Seriously. We will not get another dog for a long time, but I’m obsessed, so of course I think about the next canine addition to the pack from time to time.

Here’s my shortlist of dogs I’d consider bringing home, in the distant future:

  • A happy GSD male from Southeast German Shepherd Rescue who was good with small children. (This is probably our most likely second addition, only because I still follow SGSR’s rescue page with avid interest and want every third dog they post…)
  • Any ol’ rescue puppy! Preferably with a shepherd or collie heritage.
  • An English shepherd. I met a photographer here in town who has one and he’s crazy about her; got his puppy from a breeder in North Carolina. They appeal to me because of the way they are bred, their comparative rarity (leading to better health lines), their energy level being a notch down from an Aussie, and the fact that they have tails.
  • An Australian shepherd with a tail. As mentioned above, I’ve come to the conclusion that tails are really important and that it’s unfair to rob a dog of a tail purely for looks, particularly since our future Aussie would not be working cattle. Where do people find Aussies with tails, though??
  • A Large Munsterlander. My husband fell in love with one of these when he was farming in Europe and has been hankering after one ever since. They are rather hard to come by in the U.S., however.
  • An English setter. I’ve always liked the look of English setters, for whatever reason. They’re also apparently becoming rather rare as well. We have friends here who have a very sweet Llewellin setter whom I’m also quite fond of (you could mistake him for an English setter, were it not for his smaller size).
  • A Belgian sheepdog or Belgian tervuren. Are they a little more low-key than the malinois? I don’t actually know. I do know that I could never handle a malinois, but I love the look of these Belgians particularly.

I’ve already decided that I want to rescue some greyhounds when we’re older, too, maybe once our future and non-existent children are out of the house. (In my wildest daydreams, I also have a borzoi, but I don’t think I’d ever actually get one…)

An English shepherd. Click for source.

I am so ridiculous. Does anyone else have a similar “next dog” shortlist?

16 thoughts on “Next dog daydreaming…

  1. I have a rather long list of dogs I want to share a life with! Growing up my sisters and I all had favorite dogs we wanted when we were adults. I’m not sure if any of us got the ones of our childhood dreams, but we all have dogs. Currently I also have a list of dogs I want to see for myself :).

  2. Hmm, Irish Wolfhound, Husky, MinPin, German Shepard, Lab…the list could go on. If I could, I would have one of each (plus the two I already have) right now. Unfortunately, my house (and wallet) are not big enough to house them all! 🙂

  3. I am so ready for a second dog! I really like the look/temperament of the English Shepherd – I had never heard of them until your post. I really don’t have a breed preference although I do search aussies and cattle dogs quite a bit. I also love corgis. The most important thing is that he/she gets along well with Rufus and fits into our lifestyle as best as possible. Medium energy level, submissive but confident, and around 30-50 lbs.

  4. When our last dog, Shadow, was diagnosed with cancer, I started thinking about our next dog. I couldn’t bear the thought of being without one for long.

    I didn’t think in terms of breed. I thought of characteristics–friendly to people and other dogs, easy going, smart, playful. That’s how I decided to get my Golden Retriever, Honey.

    On the other hand, my current foster dog, Cherie, is not the type of dog I’d choose. But I love having her here. She’s sweet and houndy and just wonderful. Sometimes it’s just fun to see who comes into our lives. 🙂

  5. Abby, I love that photo of the Aussie with a tail; I could never quite picture what mine would look like if they had their tails. (Maybe that’s because they’re so busy wiggling their butts.) I hope it’s on your Pinterest so I can capture it from you! Not even going to get started on my list!

  6. Oh boy, I could get myself into trouble if I started one of these lists! My boyfriend always wanted a German Shepherd, and I a malamute. We ended up adopting a Wolf Dog, and later adopting a Malinois puppy (which is a kind of Shepherd)…later in life though I could still see a Shepherd in our family, =)

  7. I first heard about (well, saw a picture of) Llwellyn setters on Dogster. That particular one looked as though she was made out of marble or something, the way her coat was super spotty, super swirly, etc.

    My list, though? Doberman. Evidently my fiance would like a boxer.

    I also kind of like the looks and what I know of Irish Setters and Saluki. Maybe we’ll end up with a good ol’ American mutt, who knows? I just prefer shorter hair, to be sure, and I’m not sure how I’d handle living with a dog who has a tail ^^

  8. YES, I’m afraid I fantasize about this all the time too, though the Bows are perfect and irreplaceable. 😉

    I think I’ll have to respond in kind with a post… but this is one I’ve been sitting on for a while.

    Your breed interests do seem to gravitate around a certain type/kind!

  9. I just wanted to let you know that your blog is one of the few that I am subscribed to that I actually look forward to reading.

    The heartfelt posts are hard to beat.

    I have two border collies, who are my absolute life, and I couldn’t imagine myself without them, but I am too guilty of imagining the “next dog”. A Saint Bernard would be very high on my list, followed by a golden retreiever I think. I a
    Hoping to breed our female border collie and keep one of the pups – but see how that goes!

    Mainly wanted tk share how much I love your posts 🙂

  10. Oh my gosh I constantly daydream about my next dog even though I love Pearl. My husband is constantly having to tell me no but I can’t wait until we can financially handle two dogs. I have tons of breeds on my wish list, even though I know when the time comes we will probably just adopt another mixed breed in the end 🙂

  11. I sometimes daydream about my next dog too, because I just love dogs. Some breeds that are on my “wish list” are: English Shepherd, German Shepherd Dog, Shetland Sheepdog, Golden Retriever, Australian Shepherd, Husky/Golden Retriever mix (Goberian), American Alsatian, Belgium Sheepdog or a Belgium Tervrun. But one things for sure, we are getting another Rough Collie 🙂

Leave a Reply

