Our little obedience school graduate

This past week, we had our last class at Canine Campus. Those six weeks really flew by! We all learned so much—us humans most of all. Pyrrha herself made great strides in confidence and I daresay she might even miss the madness of that room and all of those beautiful dogs.

Pyrrha graduates from Canine Campus

(*Pardon the photo quality; I took my old point-and-shoot and the lighting was off the whole time. You can get the jist of what was going on, even with the blurry shapes, I think…)

For our last class, we practiced “leave it” amid distractions, which Guion and Pyrrha are attempting to demonstrate below. (Clearly, this is still a behavior in progress.)

Pyrrha graduates from Canine Campus

And then I got to practice recall with her, also with distractions (an open jar of peanut butter, a person, and lots of dogs around the room).

Practicing "come" with distractions

This class gave us a great training foundation for us to build upon in the months and years to come. I think Pyrrha has made immense strides in confidence since we started this class, and I couldn’t be more pleased. With that added confidence, she also just seems like a happier dog. She seems to understand more of what’s expected of her around the house; she’s more eager and gregarious on walks; she even actively seeks out other dogs to meet. This is such a HUGE transformation since she came to us in May.

I’m looking forward to continuing to build upon our training relationship. Proud of my little graduate!

Pyrrha graduates from Canine Campus

8 thoughts on “Our little obedience school graduate

  1. Yay, Congrats to all three of you!

    It’s interesting to hear about those changes in Pyrrha, and awesome! It is funny how quickly time goes by, isn’t it?

  2. Congratulations! I’m so happy for you. I love obedience because I do think that it’s a huge confidence builder for almost all dogs. I know it made a big difference for all of ours! Well, Kuster has no issues with confidence, so maybe not him! 😛

  3. Congrats! I am all about obedience training, I think it is a great foundation to know what to teach them, as well as a wonderful socialization experience for them. Luna still hasn’t totally got down the ‘Leave It’ yet either, I think right now as she is still a puppy the temptation is still too strong at times. 🙂

  4. Congrats! It’s a HUGE difference right?! There always seemed to be some mis-communication between my humans and I but thanks to obedience, I understand them so much better. Pyrrha’s so beautiful! 😀

Leave a Reply

