Wear a tail

“If you are a dog and your owner suggests that you wear a sweater… suggest that he wear a tail.”
— Fran Lebowitz
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
I believe I side with Ms. Lebowitz on this issue; I’m generally opposed to dressing dogs up, mainly because I’ve never met a dog who seemed to enjoy it. Plus, putting dogs in costumes seems a little degrading?
No judgment on those who do dress dogs up for Halloween or other holidays, of course. It’s obviously fun for us. I just have to wonder if it’s fun for them…
Those sartorial thoughts aside, happy weekend everyone!
2 thoughts on “Wear a tail

  1. I’m mostly not interested in costuming Elka. Perhaps the occasional headpiece? Some costumed dog pictures are pretty pathetic in my eyes.

    Her hoodie in winter, though, is something that she seeks and relies on.

  2. We do use costumes for the nursing home visits. The residents have huge smiles and the dogs love the extra attention they get. That being said, I have pretty strict rules for the costumes we use, and I make most of them, or adapt them from ones I’ve bought, but I wouldn’t put anything on them that I felt would make them uncomfortable. I honestly haven’t seen our dogs minding wearing them, and if they did, we wouldn’t mess with it. And usually, on Halloween night, they just wear Halloween collars or bandannas to greet the trick or treaters in at the door. Costumes aren’t practical when they keep running to the door every thirty seconds! lol

Leave a Reply

