Rare Dog Breed Quiz, No. 3

Test your dog breed knowledge: How many of these rare dog breeds can you correctly identify?

(Versions one and two of the quiz, if you are hankering for more dog nerdery!)

What dog breed is identified in the photos below?

#1
#2
#3
File:G Basset Griffon Vendeen 600.jpg
#4
#5
#6
#7
#8
#9
#10
#11
#12
#13

(For image sources, click on the photo.)

ANSWERS

(1: Cesky terrier; 2: Dandie Dinmont terrier; 3: silken windhound; 4: Grand Basset Griffon Vendeen; 5: Plott hound; 6: Norwegian buhund; 7: bergamasco; 8: pumi; 9: catahoula leopard dog; 10: Tibetan spaniel; 11: English shepherd; 12: Clumber spaniels; 13: Dogue de Bordeaux, aka French mastiff)

Thoughts: In creating this quiz, I was reminded of the fact that “rare” is, of course, a relative term. Dog #5, the Plott hound, is the state dog of my home state (North Carolina), and I have seen plenty of Plotts and Plott mixes at our local SPCA here in Virginia. Are there dogs in your area that some would consider “rare,” but you see them all the time?

How did you do on the quiz?

4 thoughts on “Rare Dog Breed Quiz, No. 3

  1. I got six right this time! Woo!

    I can’t think of any dogs here that I see all the time that would be considered rare. It will come to me right after I hit send, I’m sure!

  2. I got 10/13 – my worse round yet! Got #5, #6, and #11 wrong. I also got the spelling wrong on the Pumi, but I did know what I meant. 😉

Leave a Reply

