Review: Orijen tundra freeze-dried dog food

photo

We’re always happy to review a product from Orijen, because, wow, their dog products are top grade. Chewy has recently started selling Orijen freeze-dried dog food, and so we got to try the “Tundra” formula.

The food comes in a bag of freeze-dried “medallions,” which you can see in Pyrrha’s bowl, below:

photo_1

You add a small amount of warm water to the medallions, and then stir and break them up, until the food becomes soft. As you can see, Pyrrha was VERY interested in this process, and quite impatient!

photo_2

Here’s what the food looks like once it’s mostly softened:

photo_3

Pyrrha is maybe not the most discriminate reviewer, because she kind of loves anything edible, but she went crazy for this food! As in, a lot more enthusiasm than normal. She licked every last bit of the food out of her bowl, and then even went back to it five minutes later, to see if there were more crumbs she had missed. So, definitely a five-star rating from the dog.

As a conscientious dog owner, I’d also give this product five stars. The ingredient list is impeccable:

Venison (ground with bone)*, duck (ground with bone) *, Steelhead trout*, bison (ground with bone) *, elk (ground with bone) *, quail (ground with bone) *, duck liver*, duck heart*, spinach, pea fiber, bison tripe*, elk liver*, elk heart*, elk kidney*, ground sunflower seeds, Red Delicious apples*, Bartlett pears*, Red Heart plums*, Tilton apricots*, whole pumpkin*, Butternut squash*, Imperator carrots*, kelp*, mixed tocopherols, cranberries*, blueberries*, blackberries*, chicory root*, dandelion root*, summer savory, peppermint leaf*, ginger root*, iron proteinate, zinc proteinate, manganese proteinate.

BUT, as the person in the house who also holds the purse strings, the cost of this food is prohibitive for us to use on a daily basis. A 16-oz. bag of this food costs US$35, which means we’d be shelling out that much almost per day to feed Pyrrha, a 67-lb. dog, on this formula. Maybe one day I’ll be that rich, but that day does not appear to be on the horizon right now.

However, this could be a nice food to supplement as a special treat every now and then.

photo_4
Please, oh please, just put that bowl down…

Either way, we always give two paws up for Orijen!

Disclaimer: Chewy.com provided us with a bag of this food in exchange for our honest review. All opinions are expressly mine.

15 thoughts on “Review: Orijen tundra freeze-dried dog food

  1. We’ve tried their freeze-dried treats and the dogs absolutely loved them! Have to agree with you on cost….with five dogs there is no way I could afford to feed them a food like this on a daily basis.

  2. I love Champion Pet Foods. Orijen and Acana were two frequently fed kibbles here, before we switched to raw. I might have to find those, and use them as treats.

  3. That’s too bad that it’s so expensive. We do half raw/half kibble right now, although I’d love to go to all raw someday. But when we’re away and Cabana is at doggy day care or a friend’s house or when we’re traveling with Cabana, the raw food isn’t practical. It needs to be frozen, defrosted, and I don’t expect someone else to do all that. The freeze dried food would be easier to transport and would be a great special treat. Thanks for the review!

  4. I would LOVE to feed this to Ace, but I agree it is out of the price range right now. I think it is sold in a pet supplies store near me, so I wouldn’t mind picking some up for a special treat now and then. He’d love it!

  5. We use freeze dried food as treats. Not sure about Orijen (their formulas have too many ingredients for allergy dog), but Primal’s version is cheaper than the handful of treats Silas can eat.

    Also great for traveling, especially if you’ve got a finicky eater.

  6. Hi Abby! Thanks to you and Pyrrha for this fantastic review 🙂 so cute that she went back to check her bowl, too!

    So great to hear that she loved the new medallions in addition to the freeze-dried ORIJEN treats!

    Brittany
    Content and Community Manager
    Champion Petfoods

    1. I have been feeding my Samoyed and English Mastiff Orijen Regional Red for years now ( Sammy is 4 and Mastiff 3 years old). They are stunningly healthy dogs and love Orijen. I have just purchased the new freeze dried and mixed in 1 medallion with their bowl of Regional Red kibble and they love it ! I think t make sense to market this product as a kibble add in vs a stand alone food.

  7. hi – I have 2 bags of the orijen freeze dried, the regional and tundra – would this food be appropriate for a 9 lb yorkie/Chihuahua. concerned about the fat level being 35% – she is also a lb overweight – thanks

  8. I am doing a marketing project on Tundra now, and can’t wait for my dogs to try it. i received a sample bag approx 12 medallions so it will be a single meal for my 2 dogs lol. but everything i have read on it is awesome.

  9. Hi, and thank you for what seems to be a wonderful addition for a special part of our family. I have a service dog she a yorkie and is trained to zone in on my sugar levels (diabetic) as well as I have MS and suffer with temporary memory loss when it first starts she immediately alerts others and then comes to sit on me to help me not be so afraid as I recognize no-one. Rozee is my second service dog Annabell passed away July, 2016; I definitely want to do everything I can for my best friend and helpmate. Is there any possibility of receiving a trial sample form you also how long would a bag of madalions a 5lb dog? Trying to do everything I can; thank you for all that yall have done now and in the future. Beth Martin and Rozee
    booder128@gmail.com

  10. Abby,
    I feed my 4 month old Brussels Griffon and mixture of cooked chicken, potato,carrots, peas, and spinach, and a tablespoon of coconut oil. I was wondering if I bought this product I could grind it up and sprinkle a tablespoon over his food for the extra protein and fat supplement or is it overkill?
    William

Leave a Reply

