Crazy life, neglected dog

Cozy lil shepherd. #pyrrhagram #germanshepherdI hope I’m not alone in feeling this way, but when our personal lives get crazy, poor Pyrrha kind of gets neglected. She doesn’t get as many walks (or any); play-dates don’t happen; she’s alone in the house for much of the day. We feed her dinner out of her food toys and try to make it a big, exciting, stimulating game, but I think she knows what’s up and that this is all just paltry compensation.

Housing situations are heating up, and we’re going out of town this weekend for a family wedding, and poor baby Pyrrha is hankering for some attention. I keep telling her that I’ll make it up to her soon!

Anyone else ever feel this way?

Regardless, hope you have happy weekends with your beloved dogs. More from the homefront soon.

(Also, this just happens to be my 500th post on Doggerel! Wild. Oh, the places that dog blogging will take you…)

12 thoughts on “Crazy life, neglected dog

  1. When we were moving houses, it was the same way. We also really hated our previous neighborhood so walking Avery around was more of a chore instead of being something fun and relaxing. Now he gets long walks every day and his own yard to lay in! I’m sure the same will happen with you and Pyrrha will soon be a happy lady. 🙂

  2. I completely relate! It happens every year when the seasons change. All of a sudden I feel like my dogs are cooped up and don’t get to have any adventures. I’ve been taking Leo places where we can practice not barking and lunging at things, and as a result Mia gets left at home. She’s been looking pretty bummed out about it too, and I swear it only occurred to me yesterday that I could walk her around the neighborhood before I work with Leo.

  3. I totally feel you. Work has been super busy, which has made me really exhausted when I get home. It’s times like these that I’m grateful for my mellow dog – I can’t imagine having a young pup that just NEEEEDS that extra energy expelled!

  4. We recently took Donna for temperament assessment at a day care… we are thinking that when things get hectic and we have no time for her, it probably will be a good idea to put her in day care a couple days a week so she at least gets some activity playing with the other dogs rather than cooped up and bored all alone at home 🙂 Hope this get better for you eventually 🙂

  5. I’m feeling the same way. My husband has been moved to full time and my work load had doubled, so poor Jedi is crated more. And I’m so tired when I get home. I try to carve out quality time, but feel so incredibly guilty. I keep telling myself that 1) this will change and 2) dogs don’t hold grudges so quit feeling bad and throw the ball down the hall a few more times.

  6. Yep, been there and it sucks and I feel awful. So I spent today with our dogs, only watching a movie and (now) typing when they were napping.

  7. Seeing as I’m just now getting to this week old post… yep! I know exactly what you mean! I feel so guilty when life intercedes and I’m not able to pay them the attention they deserve. If we have to skip walks or give them a stuffed toy instead of playing or whatever, I feel bad. But I try to remind myself that they are way more forgiving than I could even imagine. Hope things settle down for you soon!

  8. I can totally relate to this, especially when we throw a foster into the mix… our perma dogs get less attention 😦 Not just that, but why is it that the most well-behaved of our pups (Tonka) always seem to fall to the bottom of the list? We have to reward the naughty girls at any opportunity, but we have gotten so used to his good manners that we take them for granted 😦 I feel so guilty and have been making a point to be better!

    With that being said, I do try to remind myself that our dogs’ (and yours!) standards of living are much much better than the average dog out there, and that makes me feel better when other commitments get in the way.

Leave a Reply

