The dog is suspicious (of our news)

You can't tell, but she's listening to Mozart right now. #classydog #gsd
She’s listening to Mozart while I finish a calligraphy job. She’s a very classy shepherd.

Pyrrha seems to think something is up, and she watches our movements very closely these days. Her crate is another room; we’re living amid towers of cardboard boxes; furniture is slowly being removed; Guion was gone for a week on a business trip; and I have been giving her a regrettably paltry number of walks lately.

She’d be correct in her suspicions, because something IS up: We’re moving!

And to our very first owned home, no less. We close the first week of December, and everything has gone so smoothly so far that it seems safe to announce this now. We can’t wait to be in our new house; it’s so unbelievably good and perfect for us. Pyrrha, naturally, has no idea what’s going on, but I think she is really going to love this giant new yard:

New backyard!
New backyard!

More to come soon, but this is just further explanation of my frequent absence on the blog. Can’t wait for Pyrrha to see the house for the first time and get settled. Although all I can think about is my favorite post from Hyperbole and a Half: Dogs Don’t Understand Basic Concepts Like Moving. Allie Brosh is a comic genius. (And Pyrrha reminds me of her neurotic shepherd mix. Ha!)

Have you moved with your dog(s)? How did they handle it?

23 thoughts on “The dog is suspicious (of our news)

  1. Congratulations on your new home. I hope everything goes smoothly at closing. Don’t forget to bring your check book, your favorite pen (you’ll get a hand cramp otherwise), and a bank check for your down payment funds. πŸ™‚ Feel free to contact me at Hands on Home Buyer if you have any questions.

    I’ve moved 2x with dogs. Agatha and Christie, the brawling bitches, were with us when we moved from Philadelphia to Ithaca. They were pretty stressed out. And when I tried to get them both into the car, they started to scrap. Christie refused to sit in the back of the car with her sister so I had to drive 4 hours to Ithaca with her in the front seat. I just kept praying I wouldn’t have to make a short stop.

    Luckily, when we moved from an apartment to our new home a year later, everything was much easier.

    BTW, take some of your clothes or Pyrrha’s toys with you to closing. When you get the keys, you can start planting familiar scents around your new home.

  2. What a yard! I have yard envy now!

    We really *need* to move. A big back yard and fewer street sounds would do Silas a world of good. I love our landlord and our neighborhood (where we absolutely couldn’t afford a place with a yard), though.

    1. Yeah, I’m curious how street sounds will be in the new house… it’s a lot closer to the road than our current place + in a less-nice neighborhood (which is why we could afford the house, ha!). But the yard is very secluded and peaceful.

  3. Congratulations!! That is VERY exciting news, and I think she will be so excited to see her new yard! We just had our second major move with Emmett and Lucas (first for Cooper), and even though it takes them a bit to adjust, my best tip is to pack a Pyrrha Box last with ALL her stuff and unpack that box FIRST in the new house. I think having their stuff accessible throughout the entire process gave them a touchstone. Good luck!!

  4. Congrats on the new house! That yard is amazing:) We moved this summer. The new house was no big deal to the dogs but Norman was terrified of the boxes and moving furniture before we moved. It was unavoidable in my old apartment but at the new house we could put him in the yard while we moved in and he was fine.

Leave a Reply

