What does your dog make you thankful for?

Are you doing stuff with food that will result in me having some? #dogsconstantthought
Are you doing stuff with food that will result in me having some?

We’re with my family for this Thanksgiving holiday. While I was gearing up for this trip AND our move, I’ve been stressed, yes, and Pyrrha has also been stressed, but when I stop for a moment, I realize that we have a LOT to be thankful for.

Thinking just about Pyrrha this season, during our second Thanksgiving with her, I am thankful that:

  1. She is so easy. We never worry about her getting into stuff in the house, making messes, or causing general headaches.
  2. She is patient with us.
  3. She is healthy!
  4. She is so food-motivated. This makes training (and coercing her to love Guion) a whole lot easier.
  5. She adores other dogs.
  6. She is quiet.
  7. She’s become much more calm about visitors and house guests. Although she’d still prefer that they didn’t touch her, she warms up to them a lot faster now, particularly with men (who are never her favorites).
  8. She’s always looking out for me.

Pyrrha continues to make lots of progress! It’s amazing to me to look back to last year’s Thanksgiving and realize that that was the first time she showed interest in retrieving. Crazy! Fetch is now one of her favorite games. It amazes me how much shy dogs can change, as static as they can seem sometimes. Yet another thing to be thankful for.

#gsd #germanshepherd #souschef
And again with the food-wanting face in our messy house.

Happy Thanksgiving to all of you US-based readers and pups!

How does your dog inspire gratitude in your life?

7 thoughts on “What does your dog make you thankful for?

  1. First of all: Happy Thanksgiving wishes from Europe! 🙂

    A dog is something to be very grateful for; and more in detail I am thankful for my two monsters because: they always know how to comfort me or cheer me up when I feel down, they give me a reason to get out of the couch and go outside (especially in this cold Winter weather), there’s always someone to greet me when I get home from work, they’re always happy to see me. And they’re the perfect way to get rid of the stress after a day at the office; when I see them playing together in the backyard, I immediately forget about work and start smiling! 🙂

    greets,
    Karolien

  2. I’m very thankful to have an excuse to get outside every day no matter how gloomy and cold it is. It’s hard to be grumpy about the weather when you’re being led out the door by someone who is so happy to be walking.

    Hope you had a great celebration with your family.

  3. I’m with Colin – we have big dogs and I love it when they crawl into my lap. It makes me forget all about any problems I may be having. Actually, I’ve learned to appreciate them so much more, because they help me gain better perspective. Dogs rock!

    Thanks for this reminder 🙂

Leave a Reply

