Thanksgiving with the shepherd

We had a lovely, lazy, long weekend with my family, and it was great to spend the holiday away from work/life/moving madness!

Shepherd on guard at her grandparents' house. #gsd #thanksgiving
On guard at her grandparents’ house.

P got cozy and spent plenty of time napping:

P knows what Thanksgiving is all about. #napping

More #thanksgiving napping. #gsd

She seems to have grown increasingly comfortable with visiting my parents. Despite all of the noise and plentiful amounts of people, she is easygoing and engaged there. She also loves her frequent play-dates with the neighbor’s dog (my father’s surrogate dog), Dublin, who has been featured here regularly.

We had lots of walks, including this particular one:

In Which Pyrrha Saves a Dog

On one of our daily family strolls, we set out from the house. Almost instantly, we noticed a commotion: A frantic lab mix was darting back and forth through traffic and a man was desperately trying to catch the dog, to no avail. My parents live right on a fairly busy street, and so we were all instantly terrified. My first thought when I heard the phrase “loose dog” was to turn around, not wanting to risk some reactive outburst from Pyrrha. But I’m glad I didn’t.

I reasoned that a loose dog might not come to strange people, but a loose dog would almost always come to another dog. So we started to walk straight toward the dog, who was still in panic mode and darting dangerously between vehicles. Mercifully, the dog honed in on Pyrrha and ran straight up to her, giving us the chance to grab his collar. His grateful owner was right there and thanked us profusely. And Pyrrha didn’t have a bit of reactive display; she seemed fascinated by the whole ordeal. I’m thankful that we had her with us!

Pyrrha and I wait for food. Photo: (c) Grace Farson.
Pyrrha and I wait for food. Photo: (c) Grace Farson.

All in all, a great escape. And now… let’s MOVE! More to come, when I get the chance!

Homeward bound. #lilfamily
Homeward bound.
8 thoughts on “Thanksgiving with the shepherd

  1. Pyrrha the heroine!

    Silas also handles certain things better with my parents–I think it isn’t “his” house, so he doesn’t feel like he needs to guard it so much.

    Good luck with the moving. I hate it so, so much.

    1. That makes sense (Silas recognizing that it isn’t his house); Pyrrha almost seemed happier to me at my parents’ house than at ours… which is weird/sad/intriguing to me.

      Thanks! Yes, it is so the worst. Ready for it to be over & to be settled!

  2. I’ve used both Honey and reactive Shadow to lure loose dogs to safety. It’s wonderful to see a dog getting the help he needs from another dog. So glad you and Pyrrha were able to help.

    Can’t wait to see the new house pictures. Hope Pyrrha settles in quickly.

Leave a Reply

