Happy shepherd

Happy Pyrrha
Happy Pyr!

Things have been difficult and sad around here lately, as I found out on Saturday morning that my beloved Gran had a stroke and is not expected to make it. Our holiday travel plans are now up in the air, and I’m not sure what we’ll do with Pyrrha, so we’ll need to figure all of that out in the next few days.

So, accordingly, blogging here may be sparse in the next week or so.

That aside, she is doing well and really loving her new backyard. There’s an ancient maltese named Frisky that lives next door, and yesterday morning, Pyrrha barked at her in excitement, but thankfully Frisky didn’t seem offended. Pyrrha then proceeded to play bow and run along the fence. I think Frisky is a little too old to be a playmate, but I’m glad that Pyrrha showed her friendly side.

It can be intimidating to have a big German shepherd barking at you from the other side of the fence.

She seems to have gotten more protective over the new house and new yard. Nothing resembling territorial aggression, but rather a lot more vigilance and patrolling. Thankfully, she still isn’t a barker.

We got to take our first walk in the new neighborhood last week, and I think we both really enjoyed it. It’s a charming, old neighborhood with lots of interesting houses. The neighborhood itself was supposedly founded in the 1840s, and some of these beautiful old farmhouses certainly look that old. Our house, built in 1952, is one of the young ones. 🙂

I’ve felt sad and distracted lately, so I probably won’t be a good blogger in the next few weeks, but I just wanted to drop a line to say that I’m thankful for the community here and for your consistently kind words and good advice.

I hope that you and your dog(s) are having a merry and bright holiday season!

10 thoughts on “Happy shepherd

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your dear Gran. Thinking of you and your family. And I’m so glad to hear how well Pyrrha is doing in her new home! I love neighborhoods of old houses… so much character!

  2. So sorry to hear about your Gran; you and yours are being held up in prayer.

    I love older neighborhoods. Sounds like Pyrrha does, too. God bless Frisky for staying alive after a boisterous greeting by a big, young, new neighbor – and good for Pyrrha to want to play.

  3. I am such an animal lover. I love dogs and your doggie is special or she has discovered what her best side is. I wish you all the best in finding a new home.

Leave a Reply

