Hello, my name is dog crazy

Many dog bloggers are sharing their photos today, so I thought I’d join in!

Never seen Game of Thrones, but I take my holiday hair cues from it. #holidayofficepartyselfie
Never seen “Game of Thrones,” but apparently I take my hair cues from it.

Here’s the risky hairstyle I attempted last night for my husband’s office’s holiday party. I’ve really been into studying Scandinavian decor lately, and I think it’s subtly influencing my look…

With Pyrrha at Blue Mountain Brewery
Me with Pyr on the second day we had her! May 18, 2012. She was so terrified…

In my real life, I work full-time as a copy editor for a large financial company. I love my work, and I love the quiet, meditative practice of correcting other people’s grammar (and, probably, the succeeding self-righteousness that affects all editors). I also have my own calligraphy business — Bluestocking Calligraphy — and enjoy that small creative outlet. I hold degrees in English and journalism and really love literature and the business of words.

My husband, Guion, works for a cool, online food market that promotes sustainable food and local farms. He holds an MFA in poetry and is a musician and homebrewer in his spare time. We’ve been married for 3.5 years now, and I think it’s safe to say that we’re deeply in love. He’s been a great advocate and support in my dog craziness, for sure! He was the one who encouraged me to start this blog (mainly because he was sick of me talking nonstop about dogs and thought I could use another outlet) and encouraged us to start fostering. He’s a keeper.

With my MFA
With Guion, graduating from his MFA program, this summer.

And now to answer some questions (middle school-survey style!):

What’s your favorite non-animal related book?

Like Jessica, I can’t just pick one. I graduated with a degree in English and journalism, and reading remains one of my serious hobbies. I am also an incorrigible snob when it comes to books. It’s one of my most distinct characteristics. Here are my favorites that come to mind: Lolita, by Vladimir Nabokov; Anna Karenina, by Leo Tolstoy; To the Lighthouse and Mrs. Dalloway, by Virginia Woolf; and Beloved, by Toni Morrison.

What’s your favorite non-animal related movie?

The Royal Tenenbaums (dir. Wes Anderson); There Will Be Blood (dir. PT Anderson); and Tree of Life (dir. Terence Malick). And the adaptation of Little Women with Winona Ryder and Christian Bale, which will always remain close to my heart.

Who’s your favorite actor?

Too many! Right now, I’m enamored with Cate Blanchett and Daniel Day-Lewis. But I’ll watch anything with James Stewart or Katharine Hepburn.

What makes you feel fabulous?

When I have given myself a successful manicure. Or when my natural curls look happy (which isn’t necessarily often).

What do you wish you were more skilled at?

Basic math. I think I’ve been saying this since I was in grade school.

What do you like to do in your free time?

As mentioned above, read! And take Pyrrha on walks, talk with my husband, and practice calligraphy.

If your pet could talk, what one word would SHE use to describe you?

MINE. (Or something weirdly possessive/obsessive.)

How is your pet most like you?

We both have anxious personalities; we don’t like it when our routines are disrupted; and we’re generally mistrustful of strangers.

What drives you nuts about your pet?

On all accounts, Pyrrha is a very good girl, and this is less something that drives me “nuts” and is more something that makes me sad — she still doesn’t trust my husband or really want to be around him. Their relationship improves by shades and degrees, but it always seems to be very slow work.

What melts your heart?

Accordingly, when Pyrrha and Guion are interacting and enjoying each other’s company (particularly when Pyrrha approaches HIM for attention or affection, which is rare, but happening more and more these days). Also, interspecies friends!

If you didn’t have your current pets, what pets would you choose to have?

I’ll always be a dog person, and I still dream of having another dog, but I think I’d get goats and rabbits. I grew up with a wonderful little lop-eared rabbit, and I remain big fan of bunnies to this day.

dogcrazy-300x300

Are you participating in this blog hop? If so, share your post in the comments!

15 thoughts on “Hello, my name is dog crazy

  1. Oh, To the Lighthouse is a great book. But you can’t go wrong with Virginia Woolf.

    I’ve never been great at the “rules” side of English. I worked as a writing tutor for a while, and I always dreaded students who wanted to know *why* certain things needed to be changed. Good for you!

  2. After reading this and your comment to my Meet the Bloggers post, it seems we have some things in common beyond dogs! So cool that your husband is a poet! I forgot to list goats in my future pets – they seem like such fun (and such potential trouble!). I like your taste in movies, too – I’ve been wanting to re-watch The Royal Tenenbaums.

  3. I was starting to feel left out for not reading all the popular books that the other pet bloggers liked. Clad to know I can hang out with you and Lara Elizabeth to talk about classic books and movies. 🙂

    BTW, love the hair.

  4. Your hair is so pretty! I love that you describe reading as a serious hobby. There’s never enough time to read as much as I want! And the math thing… Whoo, boy. I don’t admit this too often, but my husband always calculates tip for me. I just can’t. And when something is whatever-percent on sale? No clue. Thank goodness phones come with calculators.

  5. Hi! Nice to meet you. It was nice learning about you. I love that hairstyle! Cute 🙂 I suck at math as well. I totally wish math came to me easily.

  6. I love good curl days, too! lol I wore it really long for a long time, but then a couple of years ago, I cut it and donated it to Locks of Love. I sometimes still miss it, but not enough to fight with growing past that difficult stage of not being able to do anything with it. I love classic literature, too. I might be a bit of a book snob myself! It’s good to know more about you! 🙂

  7. I feel like we should know each other. I’m a freelance editor, working mostly on finance journals. Spent 12 years working as an in-house editor at a large finance association. Have a MFA in poetry. Love GSDs. HI MY NAME IS CHRISTINE. 😉

    1. Hi! I know of you by name–I actually work at CFA Institute, where I know you were for a number of years! And Pyrrha has had a play-date with sweet Josie, from your kennel. We do have to meet in person some time! I’d love to come visit with Carolyn some time and play with puppies. 🙂 Merry Christmas!

  8. All of our dogs love my boyfriend, but they tend to gravitate towards me, because I’m “mommy.” So when I see one laying in his lap or when I watch him making up games to play with the puppies – it’s heart warming. Especially this time around, because he let me take the lead with our first set of littermates, but he’s really stepping it up this time around with all of our dogs and I love it 🙂

  9. So nice to meet you! You and your husband look so happy together. 🙂

    My Flash would also obsessively claim me at all times. He’s a bit neurotic, but not to the exclusion of all other humans. Only when the other humans come too close to mom does he get growly.

  10. So nice to meet you! I can totally relate to what you said about editing – there’s a satisfaction there that borders on the self-righteous, but I can’t help but enjoy it anyway when I get to edit things. 😉

    I’m glad you decided to join us on the hop – I really enjoyed reading your post.

    Also, I love your hair in that first photo. I need someone to teach me how to do that!

Leave a Reply

