Squabbling in a multi-dog household

OK, time to crowd-source a question for those in multi-dog households:

How often do your dogs squabble, tussle, or fight?

Bitch face
Bitch face.

I think “squabbling” is the best word for what I’m thinking of — that irritated grumbling at each other that dogs do when a dog gets too close, accidentally steps on a paw, or is just plain annoying. Squabbling is definitely distinctive from fighting; a squabble ends pretty quickly and no one emerges injured. Teeth may be bared, but they are sparingly used. (A dog fight, on the other hand, is one of the most horrific things you can see or experience, I think; you’ll know it when you see it? Dogs won’t be torn apart from each other; they are tussling to injure.)

Pyrrha and Eden squabble on a perhaps daily basis, and to date, I have had to prevent 3 almost-fights from occurring. They get along, however, about 90% of the time. Is this normal? Or is this a bigger concern about their fundamental compatibility?

Surrounding factors:

  • Pyrrha is 2 years old and spayed.
  • Eden is 6 months old and unspayed (planning to spay her when she’s 10 or 11 months old).
  • Pyrrha is sensitive and anxious; Eden is confident and feisty.
  • Both dogs dislike backing down, but Eden is more willing to back down and listen to Pyrrha’s grumbles, which often helps defuse situations.
  • Eden will give Pyrrha muzzle licks in gestures of friendliness; Pyrrha submits to them.
  • Pyrrha play-bows to invite Eden to play in the yard. On the other hand, Eden initiates play by jumping and nipping at Pyrrha’s face.
  • Pyrrha is overall very tolerant (95% of the time) of Eden’s peskiness and adolescent annoying behaviors (allows Eden to playfully nip at her, nom on her ears, etc.).
  • They are always crated when we are not home.
  • They are crated in the same room, but their crates do not touch each other (on opposite walls).
  • They can eat in the same room, but they will resource guard from each other if something exciting or novel gets introduced. Pyrrha is usually the first one to back down if Eden challenges her over a resource.
  • Pyrrha can be possessive of me, but no fights/squabbles have involved me directly, from what I can tell.
  • They can drink from the same water bowl simultaneously with no issue.
  • They can sleep near each other with no issue, but Pyrrha will grumble if Eden tries to snuggle. (Pyrrha will do this with all dogs, though.)
  • We separate them from each other if we can sense tension building (moving them to other rooms, or one goes outside while one stays inside, etc.).

I know that they are beautifully behaved on weekends, because they get lots of exercise. We hardly have any squabbles or tussles on weekends. So, exercise and mental stimulation is definitely a mitigating factor.

But my fundamental concern is, What if they just don’t like each other? What if they never like each other? We’ve had Eden for almost a month now, and I’m not sure if this is something that will improve with time, stagnate, or intensify.

UPDATE: As I write this, they are playing happily in the backyard (play-bowing, lots of open mouths and happy expressions, lots of looseness). Yesterday was a squabble-free day, because they both got to run with Fiona for about 40 minutes. I’m realizing that all of this is closely linked to exercise and mental and physical stimulation, so I clearly have work to do to improve their access to exercise.

What do you think? How much squabbling is too much? How have you dealt with tension between your dogs?

39 thoughts on “Squabbling in a multi-dog household

  1. To be honest, this is why we chose for the combination of a male and a female dog: that combination is said to have the most chances on being successful. Not that two males or two females can’t get along, but they tend to squable more among each other than two dogs of a different sex – especially around the age when they hit adolescence.
    Killian can grumble sometimes when he’s trying to sleep and Ophelia bothers him, but he never snaps at her, I’m actually amazed at how much he has tolerated from her already! We never even crated our dogs in our absence, they have been spending all their time together from day 1. I actually never crate my dogs, not even as a puppy. I do have a crate inside the house that is used as a place to sleep, but I never lock the door.

    Our neighbour across the street has a Border Collie and a German Pointer, both females. Since they hit puberty, they absolutely cannot stand each other anymore and they used to get into quite scary fights. The border collie has been taken to the vet’s on several occasions to have injuries stitched up… 😦
    My neighbour had both of them both spayed, but unfortunately it didn’t help, and so she keeps them separated now at all times… Luckily for her, the Border Collie prefers to spend the days outside in the large garden and in the horse stables, at night she sleeps inside, but separated from the pointer. The pointer is quite lazy and spends most of her days inside the house.

    I’m not saying at all that this will be the case with Pyrrha and Eden (I think you would already have noticed it by now if it would come to that), but you do have to keep in mind that two female dogs can get on each other’s nerves (not so very different to what happens with us women in life I guess – plenty of female friends get into cat fights every now and then πŸ˜‰ ). I guess that at this age, it’s also possible that Eden sometimes tries Pyrrha to see how far she can go and that she even will try to dominate Pyrrha and see if her dominance in the “pack” is accepted or not.

    1. Thanks for your comment and feedback; I have heard this as well, that two females is the least ideal combination. I think if we had been less enamored with Eden, we may have made a more rational choice and held out for a male. But Pyr has lived with other females in the house and she has female friends. I think part of this is more Pyr’s annoyance with Edie’s puppyhood; Pyr gets more irritated with puppies than with anything else.

      1. I had two females previously and said I never would again due to some bad fights resulting in injury/vet visits (three over ten years); however, I do tend to prefer females. Currently, Ruby and my boyfriend’s dog have gotten into scuffles (we don’t live together, but had hoped to, (it’s the main reason I got a smaller dog)and the dog situation is causing a lot of stress in that department) and I tend to be so worried and tense from previous experience that I don’t even want to keep trying with them. It can be so scary and discouraging. Freya and Lasya just sort of tolerated each other and I had to be careful to manage feeding time, treat distribution and human meals. As you know, it can happen in a heartbeat. I’m a little nervous about the introduction of a foster dog, but aside from my boyfriend’s dog, Ruby has done really well with all other dogs she’s met in homes, and Cosmo is definitely the instigator. Ruby’s tenacious terrier comes out in a scuffle though, and she won’t back down.

        I think it’s a good sign that Pyrrha and Eden play together – in the pictures you’ve posted they do seem to enjoy one another’s company. It’s still new, hopefully they will get things figured out and settle into a routine which does not involve frequent squabbling. I think a little snarking between an older and younger dog is pretty normal.

      2. Ugh, that is not fun! I’m with you; I do prefer females (for superficial reasons), but I also know that bitches can be bitches and have the worst fights/working relationships. I am hopeful that P and Eden will continue to acclimate to each other, and you’re right; it is encouraging that they do seem to genuinely enjoy playing together. Thanks for sharing your experience! Good luck with Ruby and any future fosters; looking forward to reading about that!

  2. Hey Abby,
    I’m watching a 2nd dog for my grandmother (an english cocker spaniel) and my shepherd and her squabble too. Honestly, they probably have a pretty similar rate β€” about once a day one will growl at the other, though they are mostly just a “get out of my face” growls. I don’t take it too seriously… it’s only every escalated past that 2x and when it does everyone goes in their crates for cool down time.

    Learning that squabbles = crate time seems to have helped reduce the tussles. The ECS has been here now since early December (so about 2 months) and I’d definitely say that time has helped.

    That said, the trainer side of me would say you’re fine. Eden is still a puppy and Pyrrha is teaching her what’s acceptable and what’s notβ€”she’s exactly playing the part of an older dog, showing a younger dog how they’re expected to behave. Eden’s play behavior should still change to more closely resemble that of an adult dog (the mouth thing is partly a puppy behavior). I would say if you’re not getting “fights” then it’s not a matter of incompatibility.. they’re just still working things out amongst themselves and Eden is still growing up.

    If they were incompatible you’d be seeing real fights, real often.

    1. Thanks, Melissa! This is very helpful feedback. (I’ll send you an e-mail for that recording too! Thank you!) I think you’re right; they’re not fundamentally dangerous together. And they coexist beautifully the vast majority of the time — but I think Pyrrha gets easily annoyed with her puppyhood, and Eden just doesn’t know how to control herself. Thanks again for your comment!

      1. I totally agree that if they were incompatible they’d have shown it by now.

        Older dogs have a tendency to get annoyed with puppies, and puppies gotta learn how to behave somehow right?!? πŸ˜‰

  3. Not much squabbling in our household – not with the Newfs, anyway, but I think that’s because it might take some energy. Most of that kind of stuff usually involves the cats – them hissing at the dogs, or the dogs giving a bark when the cat shows interest in their bone.

    It sounds like you’re doing a good job with Pyrrha and Eden – monitoring lots and interrupting when needed, and crating while you’re away. It’s only been a month, so everyone’s still adjusting to the new home environment. And Eden is a puppy, so you’ll see changes as she matures, too. I’d give it a few more months. When we adopted Alma, we noticed behaviours appearing and disappearing a lot over the first 6 months, just as she got more comfortable.

    And just like 2 people living together, I think the occassional disagreement (not fight) is to be expected.

    1. Thanks so much for your comments, Jen, and for sharing your experience! I think you’re right; I need to realize that Edie is still maturing, and that we’ve only had her for a month, so they are still figuring out how to live together peaceably. Sometimes I envy you the newfs, the great gentle giants! πŸ™‚

  4. Two of my dogs, Dio and Beatrix, are finally starting to relax and enjoy one another. We have dealt with serious fights – one resulting in stitches for Dio – and resource guarding. They didn’t fight everyday, or even seem like they were upset with one another.

    But let me back up and say, I wasn’t as well-versed in dog body language when we first adopted Bea (2 years in April) from the shelter. I didn’t notice the hard stares, stiff movements, or the commissure being pushed forward (precursor to flashing teeth). Truth is, the tension was building and I never knew.

    I worked a vet hospital for many years, and made friends with a +R trainer who helped me understand some of what was happening. Dio had always been “in charge” when it was just him and Coal. When we introduced Beatrix she challenged that. The trainer told me to pick a dog (Dio was the obvious choice because Beatrix would run amok with that type of power! πŸ˜‰ ) and pet, feed, let them in/out first, etc. Honestly, I was very skeptical at first. I understood the principal, but don’t believe domesticated dogs work in a pack-like way. However, but it worked!

    Now that I know what’s happening, I break up the tension, separating them if necessary. If they’re mulling around me, getting riled up over whatever exciting thing they feel is happening, I disperse them, or give them cues to have their mind shift gears. (Beatrix, like I said, has a problem with stimulus control, so I try to refocus her to set her up for success.) I also try to provide them with their own “alone” time each week. I believe they enjoy being able to fully relax and be themselves without having to worry about the other dogs.

    At this point all the dogs are allowed free roam of the house when we are gone. However, we do have a crate that we utilize to separate the dogs for training purposes, giving out chewies (Bea still can resource guard, and Dio is terrible rude about hoovering around the other dogs while they’re chewing.), or if they need a break. They’ve been doing fabulously (::knocks on all the wood::) and I definitely see an improvement.

    Sorry this got so long! I could probably talk for days on this subject… πŸ™‚

    1. Not at all, thanks so much, Miranda! I really appreciate your comment and you sharing your experience. It’s helpful to know that we’re not alone in occasional dog-on-dog tension, but that there are helpful strategies to mitigate such squabbles. I appreciate it!

  5. My advice: don’t overthink it. The girls have BOTH had a lot of changes this last month. P moved to a WHOLE NEW HOUSE, and Eden has had an immense # of changes as well! The fact that things are going this well is a great sign (I used to do dog meet and greets AND adoption counseling for animal shelters)

    You’ve got two-high energy, power breeds in your home, and I think these squabbles are natural. They’ll settle into a cadence with each other over time. Try not to think about it too much, if you fear their interactions they’ll sense that. Instead focus on the good.

    My dogs Bear & Scooter have lived together for 6 years now. They have never squabbled, but they also do not really interact much at all. They don’t play with toys together due to the size difference and are occasionally found sitting together. The more I think positive thoughts about their relationship, the more interaction I notice between them.

    Also, I feel it’s extremely important that both you and G reinforce with both dogs that you acknowledge that P is in command. She should receive EVERYTHING before Eden. Greetings, treats, being let out the door first, out of the crate first, on and on and on. To us people, it seems ‘mean’ and like preferential treatment- to the dogs likes like ‘oh thank GOD you finally realize I’m the dog in charge’ by letting P know you know she’s in charge, and reinforcing that-it will help the whole pack and P may be less showy with her dominance if she’s treated like the queen bee she is πŸ˜‰

    Would love to talk w/ you about this more via email if you need/want

    1. Thanks SO much for your comment! Your perspective is wise and much-appreciated. You’re right: they have both had lots to adjust with over the past four weeks; I am perhaps being unfair in expecting everything to go perfectly smoothly right away. I really am thankful for your feedback, and I may reach out to you further via e-mail! Thanks!

  6. This is *exactly* the kind of reason that I think we’ll stay one-dog. It’s just so much easier. Although I know it was complicated for you guys because P doesn’t like your husband.

    The one thing I’ve read that seems relevant here is to make sure and give the dogs a break from each other after these squabbles to really let the tension dissipate. A few hours or the rest of the day in separate rooms.

    And I’ve got to know your superficial reason for preferring female dogs. My mind immediately jumps to the anatomical–I’m not ashamed to admit that the #1 reason I had Silas neutered is so that I didn’t have to look at his testicles anymore.

    1. Yes, it is true! Life is a lot easier with one. But Edie loves Guion, and I’ve already see that changing Pyr’s confidence in approaching him. So that’s been encouraging.

      Preferring females: It is anatomical, and a little behavioral — I really can’t stand humping. Some male dogs never do it, some are relentless to people and dogs (even post-neuter); you just never know. Pyr will actually hump other dogs sometimes if she gets too excited, but never a person. Obviously, not a huge deal, and something that is different from dog to dog! I also like that females are smaller (even though my girls will both probably top off at 65 lbs!).

  7. I could tell better with more detail but without seeing the “fights” it sounds like it’s probably normal. Puppy is annoying, older dog telling her off. If that’s the case, they’ll sort it out as Eden gets older. My dogs all get along great and I leave them out while I am gone and trust them together – I can deal with a LOT of “problem behaviors” but issues among dogs is not one of them. We have had one “disagreement” between our two boys in the year that the youngest has lived here, and it was over food. They always eat together and I don’t tolerate any fussing over food or resources with them so they both got time outs for that and it didn’t happen again. That one little squabble was around the time that our youngest was “maturing,” he was almost two years old and there was a month or so that there was some tense behavior between the two boys. The other boy is nine and kind of the “wise elder” of the house so I think there was a little testing from the youngest as he was growing up but they sorted it out. As far as the “dominance” comment above (doing everything for Pyrrha first), I will leave this here: http://awesomedogs.wordpress.com/2014/01/27/feed-problem-dogs-last/. Good luck!

  8. My two males never fight or squabble, I’ve never heard either of them growl!

    The girls are a different story. At age 6 Nandy is something of a crabby old lady. She just doesn’t like to be bothered by the younger dogs and will let them know. Similar to what’s going on with your two girls.

    After almost a year of living together something snapped between Doodle & Cricket, who had previously been best friends. There were three pretty bad incidents in a 10 day period. At that point I made the decision to crate & rotate (or room rotate in our case). It’s not ideal but it’s doable since getting rid of one of them was simply not an option.

    I don’t mean to scare you, just wanted to share our story. All dogs and situations are different. I personally would never leave any two (or more) dogs home alone unattended, to me it’s not worth the risk. I think the key is knowing your dogs and knowing warning signs to watch for.

    1. Thanks for sharing your experience. I am sure that trying to negotiate living with Doodle and Cricket is stressful for everyone, but bless you for doing what needs to be done for the girls. I appreciate your comment!

  9. I am quite happy for dogs to communicate with each other through ‘squabbling’ – a growl, snap, bark when they get stepped on, or when they’ve got a resource, or because the other body-bumped them too hard – all okay. I never intervene – I always assume that the dog’s own correction should be suffice in weakening the behaviour. (Dog implementing punishment.)

    That being said, I don’t run dogs that fight together. I just don’t. None of my dogs have fought one another, but I have plenty of rescue dogs come through my house, and they don’t always get along with everyone. They get run with dogs they do get along with. If they have a fight, they don’t run with that dog anymore. I’m not in the business of getting all dogs to get along – if they don’t get along, that’s fine, they just don’t have to interact. (That being said, I haven’t had a fight for ages – I kind of make a guess about which dogs will work with particular temperaments and now only run them together with dogs I ‘guess’ they’d work with, and don’t really try the others.)

    The one exception was when I had a rescue dog, Bella, and when I had my dog, Chip. They got along very well together, but food-aggression was a problem. I made a mistake and left a bone outside, which resulted in them fighting. I became very conscious of bones, and didn’t have another incident – until a rat dragged some chicken food out of the chicken coop and into the yard, and we had a similar incident. That was a fluke! As it was only food aggression, and wasn’t related to any other resource, I was happy to continue these interactions.

    Do dogs that fight ever get along? I don’t know. In the days when I was less savvy (my first foster dog), I had her and my dog fight for the whole 3 months in care (something I’d never do now – they’d be separated). I’ve never tried to get dogs to get along if they had had a fight.

  10. We have almost daily squabbles. Heck, I squabbled with my siblings almost hourly growing up, so I never worry about it too much. We’ve had two big fights (both times Emmett and Cooper) and several almost-fights that we broke up in time. Sometimes I think they don’t like each other because they snipe over the smallest infractions like a stepped-on paw or who has which antler, but other times I find them all squished together on the same dog bed when they have the run of the whole house. It was MANY months before Emmett and Lucas went from tolerating each other to being more like “brothers” and then the same thing happened with Coop, so it may be a matter of time, too. I’ve heard the female/female thing before, but I’m not sold on it as a basis for truly worrying. I don’t have it with me to quote directly, so I’m summarizing from memory here, but there’s actually a section in that Decoding Your Dog book that says personality differences factor more than gender issues.

    1. I’d have to agree with that, Maggie – although my experience with two females made me wary of having that combo again, I think individual trumps gender. Ruby’s best dog friend is another female who outweighs her by about 50 pounds. I’m hearing so much about ‘Decoding Your Dog’ – another one I’ll have to read!

    2. This certainly makes me feel better — to know that “squabbling” is a fairly normal thing. I’d agree that it does seem to be more personality differences, although it seems that 2 females are more likely to bitch than 2 males or 1 male and 1 female. I so appreciate hearing from you!

  11. i was quite surprised to see that you had two female dogs of the same size together.
    I had two female dogs once, both spayed. They never had a fight, but I had to keep
    my watch on them. I had a GS and another mixed dog, both females, spayed and the
    GS tried to kill the mixed dog. I rehomed the GS.
    Males fight but bitches fight to kill.
    Some breeds are more prone to this than others. I have Shelties and they can all live
    together without a problem. I have had two Belgian Malinois bitches, who were just fine
    together all their lives.
    My Shelties get along regardless of the sex.
    I would worry when your younger dog reaches puberty or maturity.
    I wish you the best of luck. It is heart breaking to have two dogs who do not get along.
    A great deal has to do with the breeding itself.

  12. Don’t panic. I know a woman who had three females, and one of them was an extremely reactive German shepherd. You can find anecdotal evidence to support any side of the story.

    Mia and Leo have had three or four true “fights.” When we first got Mia, she lifted her lip and snarled when Leo came near her when she was lying down or had a toy. (We called it “Predator face,” like from the movie.) Leo backed right off, and now Mia does that very rarely. The two fights that I can explain happened when Leo refused to back down. He usually defers to her, “accidentally” drops a toy or bone near her and she takes it, and oh well, he walks away. But if he has something that he really feels is “his” (a piece of hamburger Rob gave him, a live rabbit he caught) and she tries to take it, they have a real fight that needs to be broken up. We don’t have any sort of in-between, which is what your squabbles sound like. They don’t sound dangerous to me.

    I think it’s terrific that the dogs can play together happily. In my unprofessional opinion, I think that means they can really “like” each other. I truly believe that Leo and Mia like (love?) each other. Isis never accepted Leo (never mind played with him) in the seven months we had them together. I think they never would have “liked” each other, even if we had been able to have them together in the same room.

    Probably it’s a good idea to continue to keep them separated when you’re not around, and just be aware of their dynamic as Eden matures. They could grow to love each other, or they could grow into rivals.

    I just listened to this podcast the other day about liviing with multiple dogs. It has some good advice for not interfering with the hierarchy that develops in a two-dog household: http://thegreatdogadventure.com/episode18/

    Best of luck to you and those beautiful dogs!

    1. Thanks so much for your comment, Kari, and for sharing your experiences. I am always eager to hear from the fellow GSD people! And thanks for sharing that podcast; I will definitely listen to it. Thank you!

  13. I would say a lot of what you are dealing with is a puppy being a puppy and an older dog asserting a bit of discipline. It’s pretty normal, but I’d still tell them to knock it off when it starts. It might be a good idea to give them each some time away from each other a little each day.

  14. I know I am a little late on this, but wanted to chime in. I can speak from personal experience. I have always had females, always about same size, and always a multi-dog house (maximum at 3 dogs).
    I would agree with what has been said, however, there is one element that I did not see- or maybe just missed in my reading. That is to support Pyrrha when she does correct Eden.
    I currently have a German Shepherd as well and adopted a lab a couple of years ago. They are about 1 year apart with the lab being younger. As you can imagine my lab is goofy, happy go-lucky and confident. My GSD has a similar personality to your Pyrrha. She immediately wanted to correct my lab on a regular basis- largely due to her rough play, getting in her face, etc. I let her correct as I knew that dogs usually worked things out. However- my lab was not “getting it”. As soon as Storm corrected, Breezy would be back at it again. That was when I knew I needed to “help” her. If Storm corrected and Breezy ignored the correction I stepped in to re-direct Breezy, give Breezy a time out, etc. That is also where you may be seeing the difference with more exercise. If Eden is more exercised she is probably less pesky and persistent to Pyrrha and more willing to take the corrections. Time outs, time apart, etc are all good, but so is your support.

    Back up a few years I learned this the hard way. When Storm was only 6 months old she was the pesky kid and irritated another one of my girls (who has since gone over the Rainbow Bridge). The same things happened- lots of corrections and some ignoring of those correction. At one point my old girl had had enough and nailed Storm. However, Storm fought back and my old girl ended up in the hospital. I simply did not support her and if I had things would have been different. They ended up being friends and Storm grew into a well adjusted girl, however, it was a lesson learned and I have noticed that my current situation has been much smoother due to that support.
    If Eden is not responding to the corrections Pyrrha will try harder to get her to pay attention- unless she knows that you have her back.

    I think it will work out and will get better as Eden grows up a little.

    1. Thanks so much for your comment, Cheri; I think this is very wise advice, and I always appreciate hearing from fellow GSD people! Your tip on being ready to step in when need be is a good one. My human instinct tells me to rebuke Pyrrha for being harsh in her corrections, but really, she’s just trying to teach Eden how to behave, and I need to reinforce that. Thanks for this!

  15. Wow, you’ve gotten a lot of advice but here’s my 2 cents anyways;) Kaya and Norman have never had issues but they’re similar in age and always on the same page. Zoey, is on the extreme other side(as an older dog with bad dog aggression, anxiety and territorial behavior) though and we spent months and months slowly giving them more access to each other, starting with calm supervised interactions in the yard only, then in the house, then with resources like bones closely supervised to make sure they don’t get close to Zoey, always separated from her for feedings, then a little less closely supervised, like us inside, them outside and finally, probably a year later I trust them with her in any situation. I leave them all day together in the yard or in the house when I’m not home, even with fresh raw bones and leave all their bones and toys around. We never thought we’d see the day when Zoey would even tolerate being within 20 feet of another dog without flipping her lid, none the less sharing a house and becoming attached to 2 young dogs! She doesn’t even like to walk without them now. There were so many “holy shit” moments when Zoey actually lies on the same dog bed as them and lets them give her lots of kisses and sometimes even kisses back and tries to play with them in a really awkward old lady way.

    The point of my lengthy rant is that I absolutely think your 2 girls can get along and enjoy each other in the long run. Obviously they are nowhere near the opposite spectrum that my 2 dogs and Zoey are. I would suggest removing all possibilities of resource guarding until they are more used to each other. I would also suggest tie downs(maybe just for Eden?) in the house so she has some boundaries as to when it’s time to give Pyrrha some space. I would never see a tie down as a punishment but as a tool to show the dog hey, it’s okay to just relax here for a while. Give her a comfy bed and something to chew on.

    When Kaya was young I could never drain her physical energy but 5 to 15 minutes of trick training would really wear her out, at least enough to relax with a bone. I taught her so many tricks that were of course useless and many we never even completed learning but it was more about connecting with her and challenging her and having fun together. So if you only have 5 minutes here and there, I’d try to squeeze in some fun training with Eden.

    One of the most useful things I taught Kaya and Norman when they were young was to never roughhouse indoors. This helped MY sanity but maybe in your case it could help Pyrrha’s to know she can count in inside being quiet time and help Eden to know there is a time and a place for playtime.

    One more thing! Kaya used to be SO rough, fiesty and dominant in play but once I got her into fetch, she started playing with other dogs while holding a ball in her mouth. She still had all the fun but wasn’t offending the other dogs so much. Maybe Eden would enjoy the ball as an outlet for her puppy chomping needs. Oh, and I wouldn’t worry about the female female thing. I’ve had so many same sex dogs together, spayed and unspayed and they’ve all been fine. I really think it comes down to age, tolerance and energy level. I think you’ll be fine:)

Leave a Reply

