Review: Silver Paw ID tag

I was delighted to hear from Karen at Silver Paw Pet Tags, who asked us if we’d be willing to review one of their ID tags. Eden has been wearing one of Pyrrha’s old ID tags for a few weeks now, and I’ve been wanting to get her something nice of her own, so it was perfect timing.

Along with dog books, ID tags are also something that I’m picky about. I want them to be durable, readable, and large enough to contain at least four lines of useful information. So, I was very happy to read on the Silver Paw site that their tags meet all of these standards.

The stainless steel tag came in a pretty little velvet bag (ooh la la) and came with both an S-hook and a ring, which was a thoughtful inclusion.

Silver Paw tag | Doggerel

We picked out the “lotus” design in the medium size, and I’m very happy with it! Even Guion, who normally does not notice such things, said, upon seeing Eden with her new bling, “Is that a new tag? I really like it!”

Silver Paw tag | Doggerel

I am most impressed with the weight of the tag; it’s very heavy (in a good way) and seems like it would be very long-lasting. I wish that the engraving appeared a bit darker (and thus more readable), but I have no fears about it being chipped or rubbed off, as happens so easily with other metal or plastic dog tags.

Silver Paw tag | Doggerel

The medium tag sells for $26.95 and comes in several cute designs. $27 may sound like a lot for an ID tag, but these tags come with a lifetime guarantee, and I am not inclined to doubt that promise!

I think Edie looks very distinguished with her new tag! Apologies for the photo quality; it’s difficult to get a 6-month-old to sit still, even when you’re bribing her with food…

Eden in her new tag | Doggerel

What are your qualifications for a good dog ID tag?

Disclosure: We were provided with this ID tag in exchange for our honest review.

3 thoughts on “Review: Silver Paw ID tag

Leave a Reply

