Watching Fiona, waiting for snow to melt

We had a lovely, loooong weekend here, waiting for the snow to melt. My parents came up and helped us with a lot of home improvement projects, and we were dog-sitting Fiona, so we had lots of fun with the three girls.

Walk with these 3 crazies. Sweet shades, @jfarkle.
My dad and Guion walking the three crazies.

Pyrrha and Eden were very sweet during the busy weekend, and Fiona is always a joy to have around — and the perfect energy-level match for Edie.

The girls

Eden and Fiona would play for hours in the yard, hardly taking a break to breathe. It’s so fun to watch them wear each other out.

Untitled

Pyrrha, meanwhile, liked to do her own thing. She’d wander around in the yard with the young’uns, and occasionally join in their games of tag, but for the most part, Pyrrha likes to keep to herself. I was especially interested to note how comfortable she was with my parents, particularly my dad. While he was installing our new disposal (YAY), she was at his side constantly — surely thinking she was being a great help.

Pyrrha consults while Jak installs our disposal.

The little ones got tired very quickly! Which was blissful.

Untitled

Untitled

As a side note, I particularly noticed this weekend that Pyrrha and Eden have been doing very well together. For a few weeks there, I was worried that we had two dogs who didn’t like each other. There was a lot of daily squabbling, and I felt tense about their relationship. But over the past few weeks, they have been so great together: calm, appropriately playful, respectful of each other’s needed space, etc. The tension is way down, and they seem to genuinely enjoy each other now. I think we were just going through a settling-in period, and they were just figuring each other out. After all, we’ve still only had Eden since the end of December, so I imagine they’re still learning about each other — but they’ve been making great progress, and I’m proud of them. Thanks to you all for sharing your stories and advice about living with multiple dogs (particularly two females)!

4 thoughts on “Watching Fiona, waiting for snow to melt

  1. I’m so happy to hear the girls are doing well! Ruby and I will have a house-guest next week…my boyfriend’s Pug mix, Cosmo. He is a bit of grump and a resource guarder and they have gotten in some scuffles at my boyfriend’s house (in fact I got so nervous about it that I stopped taking Ruby over there). My hope is that without his person and his territory, Cosmo and Ruby can get better acclimated to one another. At least my house is well set up for separation if it’s necessary. They will play together but Cosmo is no match for Ruby’s energy level (few dogs are…)

    The picture of Pyrrha “helping” your dad is adorable.

  2. Glad to hear everyone’s getting used to one another! I think you’re right – they were just taking some time getting used to and sorting out the new household dynamics.
    Looks like Pry is suited for a job in management!

Leave a Reply

