Level of sagacity

Marlon Brando with family dog, Illinois, early 1950s.
Marlon Brando with a family dog in Illinois, early 1950s.

“The dog has seldom been successful in pulling man up to its level of sagacity, but man has frequently dragged the dog down to his.”

— James Thurber

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

How sage is your dog? I’d say that Pyrrha has a fair level of internal sagacity, but Eden’s sagacity levels likely dip around zero. I saw a post somewhere this past week arguing that German shepherds, especially working-line GSDs, have the most hellish adolescent periods of maybe any other breed. I BELIEVE IT. Although I’d put my money on a malinois or a kelpie… But yeah. I sometimes feel like Eden is never going to grow up and is going to live out the rest of her life keeping us in a state of terror.

Speaking of Eden, I’m in a middling state of panic about her health and how underweight she is. But I need to be patient and wait to see how she reacts to these antibiotic/probiotic treatments. It feels hard to keep calm.

(Sidenote: Whew, young Marlon Brando. What a beautiful asshole. I still feel so good about naming our first foster Brando. It fit him perfectly, and his new family decided to keep the name!)

Any fun weekend plans? We are on hands and knees, prayerfully begging for SPRING! And for the yard to dry up, at least for a few days… Have mercy on us!

9 thoughts on “Level of sagacity

  1. I mentioned this briefly on twitter, but I have a friend whose dog has the GSD pancreatic thing you’re worried about. She has a lot of food issues in general, and I’m not sure how linked they are. I think most of her food problems are allergies. Still, it’s manageable. She has a pretty limited diet, but is an overall-healthy eight or nine years old now.

    Silas is not a sage dog at all, and probably never will be. His “zen” is level 1. He can fake it with a pretty regal expression, but he’s a worrier.

  2. My advice would be to keep you behavior expectations low until that second birthday comes and goes. Puppy lasts for a full two years. After that, the transformation can be remarkable. Good luck.

  3. Brando is such a fantastic name for a dog!

    Since we’ve decided Ruby and Silas are dog twins, I’m just going to echo what Jessica said about Ruby’s sagacity levels. Her moments of composure are hard-won.

  4. I’ve been reading your blog for a couple months now and just wanted to say how thoroughly I enjoy your posts. Sending lots of good thoughts your way on Eden’s behalf. I totally appreciate how scary those situations can be; I truly hope the speculations end up being the worst part of it.

    Chalo has some pretty sagacious qualities for such a young dog. He’s got this steady, soulful, miles-deep gaze, and people meeting him for the first time tend to describe him as an old soul. (At least until he burps in their face.)

  5. Keep on keeping on — Riley just turned two in January and she’s finally starting to loose that “crazy puppy” zeal. She still has her moments, but overall is much more even keeled than she has been since I adopted her at 8 months old.

    I’ve been working with her pretty much since I adopted her on her loose leash walking and it’s only now that the world isn’t so “bright and new” all the time that I’m finally making really consistent progress on not pulling. We did a home depot training trip last night and I was so proud of my girl!!

    She still doesn’t have much sagacity, though. Maybe a 1?

  6. Emmett has the corner on sagacity around here. Although, that’s not to say he’s the smartest pup. He just doesn’t let much rile him up, and he picks his battles with the other dogs. Emmett is a zen master, though he’s certainly no Einstein (funny enough, I have a post about that coming Tuesday).

  7. My GSD Jedi will be 18 months next week. He can be a real “Brando” too. My shepherd friends (breeders/handlers) all say it’s not uncommon, so I’m trying not to freak out too much. All my other shepherds came to me as adults so this took me by surprise too.

    BTW, I love your blog so much that I am giving you the “Sunshine Award” (http://jaxdogmom.blogspot.com/2014/03/and-winner-is.html for details). I know I don’t comment much (I’m a lurker), but I wanted to let you know that I do pay attention! — K

  8. I’d lay odd on Mals being worse, too, which is why I put my foot down hard on that idea when it came up during the SAR puppy search. That being said, Küster’s puppyhood was quite an experience and I feel like he’s still a lot of puppy at 2.5 years old. I don’t expect him to truly mature until around the age of four or even after that. He also had a lot of food issues as a puppy, if that makes you feel better. He was on probiotics a couple of times, but at around a year old, most of that stopped. We also had to be careful what we fed him because of his pano. I’ve heard that a lot of Shepherds have pretty delicate systems.

Leave a Reply

