First road trip with both dogs

Guarding me in the bedroom
Bedroom guardians.

Today, we’re gearing up for a new adventure: Our first road trip with both dogs!

I’m a little anxious, to say the least. It’s a 4.5-hour drive, one way. We’re attending the wedding of a family friend and will be staying with my parents. Both dogs love my parents, so they’ll be happy to be with them, and this will be Eden’s first visit, and her first time meeting Dublin.

They’ve taken short trips together in the back seat of our little hatchback and did fine, but they are big dogs, and they take up all of the space (not to mention our luggage and their crates).

The worry factors: Pyrrha doesn’t like to cuddle or share space with other dogs. Pyrrha likes to stretch out and sleep in the back seat on car trips. Which she, clearly, will no longer be able to do.

The good/reality factors: They are both very good and quiet in the car (no car sickness, no frantic energy). And we don’t really have another option! So we’ll see how it goes. I’m sure we’ll be taking many more stops than we usually do, so they can stretch their (cramped) legs.

How do you travel on the road with your dog(s)? Anything that you’ve found that makes it more bearable with two?

5 thoughts on “First road trip with both dogs

  1. We’ve taken Zoey, Kaya & Norman together on a 4 hour road trip before. Zoey doesn’t like sharing space either but it went fine. We have a jeep so we flattened the back seats to give them the most room and I covered the surface with their memory foam beds so it’s all comfortable. My biggest tip is to get them good and tired before you head out. We stopped at the park on our way out of town and they snoozed the whole way. It helped Zoey relax a lot as she expects to go somewhere awesome as soon as she gets in the car. Good luck!

  2. I hope you have a great trip. When I was a kid Angel, our Bullmastiff, used to claim shotgun. I don’t know if you have seat belts for the dogs, but if you do, you could let Eden ride shotgun while you and Pyrrha relax in the backseat for part of the trip.

  3. My two go on long trips on a really regular basis, like 4 to 6 hours several times a month. I can’t help you on spacing as it’s easy for chihuahuas to have their own space.

    I would say make sure they have adequate grip under them so they don’t slide around, that way once they get comfy they might be able to sleep.

    I don’t stop for a break unless one of us needs one, frankly it’s usually me *rolls eyes* and they will have a leg stretch at that point. Don’t even get me started on the lack of places I can go to the toilet and take the dogs with me. There’s no way in the UK I can leave my dogs in the car and guarantee they’ll be there when I get back and I travel alone with them a lot. So I have had to prefect the art of finding somewhere secluded I can go :-O

    However if I don’t need to go and they’re both asleep I just keep driving, if they wake up and do more than just shuffle about and go back to sleep we stop for them to use the facilities 😀

  4. Good luck! I’m sure you’ll have a blast! We’ve taken the 3 boys at once to and from DC several times… It’s impossible to get everyone their own space, but we just did lots of stops at rest areas so we could jog them around the parking lot. I’m sure it’ll go swimmingly! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

