Unmediated Experience

Erik & Maaike's Tranquil Country Cottage. Sleepy pup
Source: Apartment Therapy.

Unmediated Experience
Bob Hicok

She does this thing. Our seventeen-
year-old dog. Our mostly deaf dog.
Our mostly dead dog, statistically
speaking. When I crouch.
When I put my mouth to her ear
and shout her name. She walks away.
Walks toward the nothing of speech.
She even trots down the drive, ears up,
as if my voice is coming home.
It’s like watching a child
believe in Christmas, right
before you burn the tree down.
Every time I do it, I think, this time
she’ll turn to me. This time
she’ll put voice to face. This time,
I’ll be absolved of decay.
Which is like being a child
who believes in Christmas
as the tree burns, as the drapes catch,
as Santa lights a smoke
with his blowtorch and asks, want one?
. . . . . . . . . . .
It is interesting to me that old dogs seem to inspire the most poetry. Perhaps it is because we feel most tenderly toward them? And because they make us feel so sad?
One thought on “Unmediated Experience

Leave a Reply

